Group Schedule, Winter 2012

From MurrayWiki
Revision as of 19:46, 12 December 2011 by Ender (Talk | contribs)

Jump to: navigation, search

This page contains information about various upcoming events that are of interest to the group.

The schedule for group and subgroup meetings is given below. Everyone should sign up for times to talk in the subgroup meetings.

Directions:

  • Biocircuits (Tue or Thu, 3-5 pm): graduate students should give 1 longer presentation per term + 1-2 additional research updates; postdocs, undergrads should give 1-2 research updates.
  • NCS (Wed, 4-6 pm): grad students should speak 2 times per term for 15-20 min (+ discussion), postdocs and undergrads at least once
  • Robotics (Wed, 4-6 pm): grad students and postdocs should speak 2 times per term for 15-20 min (+ discussion), undergrads at least once; will also do ad hoc updates
  • Group meeting talks (WThF, 12-1:15): postdocs and senior grad students (G4+) should feel free to sign up for a group meeting talk (biocircuit grad students: this can be in place of longer subgroup talk)

Please sign up for at least one presentation in the first six weeks of the term.

Note that some of the meetings might need to shift, as noted; only sign up for those slots if you can make both times listed

Week 1: 4-6 Jan

NCS: 4 Jan (Wed), 4-6 pm

  • Jun Liu (15-20 min)
  • Joseph Meyerowitz (15-20 min)
  • Project updates

Group meeting: 5 Jan (Thu), 12-1:15

  • Ophelia

Biocircuits: 5 Jan (Thu), 3-5 pm

  • Safety briefing (30-40 min)
  • Vanessa (10-15 min)
  • Research update (10-15 min)
  • Lab updates

Academic holiday, 2-3 Jan
CDS quals, 6 Jan (RMM busy all day)

Week 2: 9-13 Jan

Robotics: 11 Jan (Wed), 4-6 pm

  • Shuo (15-20 min)
  • Scott Livingston (15-20 min)
  • Short research updates (5 min each)
  • Might shift to Fri, 1-3 pm

Biocircuits: 12 Jan (Thu), 3-5 pm

  • Marcella (30-40 min)
  • Jongmin (10-15 min)
  • Research update (10-15 min)
  • Lab updates

Group meeting: 13 Jan (Fri), 12-1:15 pm

  • Domitilla Del Vecchio (MIT)

Week 3: 16-20 Jan

Biocircuits: 17 Jan (Tue), 2-4 pm

  • Research presentation (30-40 min)
  • Dan (10-15 min)
  • Shaunak (10-15 min)
  • Lab updates
  • Note time shift in day (to "regular" day)

NCS: 18 Jan (Wed), 4-6 pm

  • Eric (15-20 min)
  • Mumu (15-20 min)
  • Project updates

Group meeting: 19 Jan (Thu), 12-1:15

  • Naira Hovakimyan (UIUC)

Week 4: 23-27 Jan

Biocircuits: 24 Jan (Tue), 3-5 pm

  • Ophelia (30-40 min)
  • Emzo (10-15 min)
  • Enoch (10-15 min)
  • Lab updates

Group meeting: 25 Jan (Wed), 12-1:15

  • Necmiye

Robotics: 25 Jan (Wed), 4-6 pm

  • Stephanie (15-20 min)
  • Pete (15-20 min)
  • Short research updates (5 min each)
  • Might shift to Fri, 1-3 pm

Week 5: 30 Jan - 3 Feb

Biocircuits: 31 Jan (Tue), 3-5 pm

  • Research Presentation (30-40 min)
  • Nikki(10-15 min)
  • Zach (10-15 min)
  • Lab updates

NCS: 1 Feb (Wed), 4-6 pm

  • Marcella (15-20 min)
  • Ufuk (15-20 min)
  • Project updates

Group meeting: 2 Feb (Thu), 12-1:15

  • Jongmin

Week 6: 6 Feb - 10 Feb

Biocircuits: 7 Feb (Tue), 3-5 pm

  • Vanessa (30-40 min)
  • Paul (10-15 min)
  • Victoria (10-15 min)
  • Lab updates

Group meeting: 8 Feb (Wed), 12-1:15

  • Andrea

Robotics: 8 Feb (Wed), 4-6 pm

  • Scott Livingston (15-20 min)
  • Andrea (15-20 min)
  • Short research updates (5 min each)

Week 7: 13-17 Feb

NCS: 15 Feb (Wed), 4-6 pm

  • Necmiye (15-20 min)
  • Scott Livingston (15-20 min)
  • Project updates

Group meeting: 16 Feb (Thu), 12-1:15

  • Open

Biocircuits: 16 Feb (Thu), 3-5 pm

  • Research presentation (30-40 min)
  • Marcella (10-15 min)
  • Research update (10-15 min)
  • Lab updates
  • Note change in day

Week 8: 20-24 Feb

Biocircuits: 21 Feb (Tue), 3-5 pm

  • Emzo (30-40 min)
  • Jongmin (10-15 min)
  • Research update (10-15 min)
  • Lab updates

Robotics: 22 Feb (Wed), 4-6 pm

  • Shuo (15-20 min)
  • Eric (15-20 min)
  • Short research updates (5 min each)

Group meeting: 23 Feb (Thu), 12-1:15

  • Hold: possible job talk

Week 9: 27 Feb - 2 Mar

Biocircuits: 28 Feb (Tue), 3-5 pm

  • Dan (30-40 min)
  • Research update (10-15 min)
  • Research update (10-15 min)
  • Lab updates
  • Will probably shift to 2 Mar, 3-5 pm

NCS: 29 Feb (Wed), 4-6 pm

  • Mumu (15-20 min)
  • Open (15-20 min)
  • Project updates
  • Will probably shift to 2 Mar, 1-3 pm

Group meeting: 2 Mar (Fri), 12-1:15

  • Shaunak

Week 10: 5-9 Mar

Biocircuits: 6 Mar (Tue), 3-5 pm

  • Enoch (30-40 min)
  • Vanessa (10-15 min)
  • Research update (10-15 min)
  • Lab updates

Robotics: 7 Mar (Wed), 4-6 pm

  • Pete (15-20 min)
  • Andrea (15-20 min)
  • Short research updates (5 min each)

Group meeting: 9 Mar (Fri), 12-1:15

  • Hold: possible job talk

Week 11: 12-16 Mar

Finals week; Richard out of town

Week 12: 19-23 Mar

Spring break; Richard out of town